135 Republicans Vote With Democrats to Advance Gun Bill as Part of NDAA

Source: Resist the Mainstream

Date: 9/26/2021

The United States House of Representatives voted to advance legislation that will allow police to confiscate firearms of individuals believed to be a threat to themselves or others, known as Red Flag Laws, that became highly controversial during the Trump administration due to fears they would be abused.

The bill, which soared through the U.S. House and will now head to the Senate, had the bipartisan support of 135 Republican representatives.

While many of those who voted alongside Democrats are not surprising to many, others are

Among these are Reps. Matt Gaetz, Madison Cawthorn, Elise Stefanik, Devin Nunes, Ronny Jackson, President Trump’s former White House doctor, and Greg Pence, the brother of former Vice President Mike Pence, as well as House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy.

Other Republicans who voted for the Red Flag Law gun confiscation bill are Reps. Herrera-Beutler, Dan Newhouse, Fred Upton, Peter Meijer, John Katko, Dave Valado, Adam Kinzinger, and Liz Cheney.

The Red Flag Law gun confiscation legislation was folded into the often-controversial National Defense Authorization Act bill for 2021, which funds the United States Armed Forces.

Many Republicans defended their vote by claiming it was necessary to make sure active duty troops would receive their pay.

This is an excerpt from National File.

Back to Top